top of page

Called to be radiant?

So...my favorite flowers are sunflowers. I have no idea why, but whenever I see them, I just get SO excited! ( My family should know this )

I don’t know, but one of my dreams is to dance with a long flowy white dress in a field of sunflowers, that probably sounds super hippy doesn’t it ;) but I’m being so serious, just imagine dancing in a field of sunflowers having no cares in the world, being completely surrounded by glowing flowers radiating the sun’s beauty. I mean, how perfect is that?

I’ve even imagined my dream wedding to have sunflowers literally everywhere, sunflower cake, sunflower bouquet, sunflower decorations, sunflower everything! Shame...my future husband should really prepare himself.

Anywhooo...

Did you know that sunflowers were created to grow towards the sun? That’s probably why they are my favorite flowers, they have such a uniqueness about them. They might be a bit more out there than other flowers and super bulky, but I mean, who doesn’t like big bright flowers?? Sunflowers get their glow from facing the sun as they grow. The sun draws sunflowers to itself, that is why they are called ‘sun’ flowers. They follow the sun!

In Psalm 34:7 it says that those who look to Him are radiant, did you know that God did not create us to be dull? Shocking! I know.

We were not created to be boring women, when you see a sunflower it is the opposite of dull. It is bright and big and beautiful, it draws you in, it’s warm and welcoming. It captivates you.

It’s the same thing with us, God has created you and I to be like that of a sunflower, warm and radiant, turned towards Him.

If a sunflower grows away from the sun, then it can never reach its full height and beautiful potential that it was created to reach. It withers and dies a lot sooner than the others, it’s not as bright and big, but instead, it’s small and dull.

Sadly, it’s the same thing with us. We can only grow to our full potential and beauty when we are turned towards Jesus. Just as the sun provides sunflowers with all the nutrients they need, Jesus does the same with us, He gives us everything that we need, He gives us joy, peace, love, kindness, beauty and so so much more. When we are turned away from Him then we usually try to get these things from other sources, unreliable sources that instead of fulfilling us, leaves us more broken and lost than before. Trust me, I know.

I believe that our main purpose as women is to reflect God’s beauty. To be radiant for Him, to be beautiful with His beauty, to draw people in, to be warm and welcoming, to be captivating as we radiate His goodness and glory!

Let’s go back to that sunflower field with YOU dancing in a white flowy dress, can you picture it? There’s such a warmth about it, it’s like this freedom that you have with your hair blowing in the wind, surrounded by sunflowers with the sun setting behind you. No cares in the world, no worries or troubles that you would usually experience every day. Just you dancing, free.

Can I tell you a secret?

That’s how God wants us to be with Him, free. Free to dance with Him, free of our distractions, free to be joyful, not just happy, but to be filled with His joy! Free to be alone with Him.

And as we are free with Him, you become radiant, the way you were intended to be.

Let Him captivate your heart, and transform you into the most beautiful sunflower that seeks Him and finds joy and freedom in the seeking.

Love,

Caity.


bottom of page